Here's the current news from Division 1-A Athletics...

Dutch Baughman retired as the Executive Director of the Division 1A Athletic Directors’ Association on January 31, 2015.
On September 22, 2015, Tom McMillen was selected to replace Dutch and is the President and CEO of the Association.
Prior to Tom taking the position, Jack Swarbrick, Director of Athletics, University of Notre Dame was the President of the Association.

Our Mission

We are a professional Association, national in scope, comprised of IA Directors of Athletics.

As stewards of our profession, we bear responsibility for all facets of professional administration of the intercollegiate athletic programs within the community of higher education.

As a service organization, we provide and coordinate a comprehensive array of professional services in response to the needs and wants of our member schools.


DIA Athletics Directors’ Association Athletic Directors’ Institute
July 28-30, 2014
Los Colinas, Dallas, TX
D1A Athletics Directors’ Association Annual Meeting
D1A Athletics Directors’ Association 2014 Annual Meeting will be held at the DFW Hilton in Grapevine, Texas on Monday, September 22nd and Tuesday, September 23rd

Annual Meeting

These are the recognized sponsors of the 2013 Annual Meeting.

AD Profile

Brad Bates

Morgan Burke
1A Athletic Directors’ Association

As he embarks on his third decade as director of intercollegiate athletics at his alma mater, Morgan Burke continues to put his heart and soul into what he truly views as a labor of love. He has worked vigorously to ensure every student-athlete has a positive experience at Purdue University.

A 1973 industrial management graduate and captain of the swimming team his senior year, Burke was a member of Phi Beta Kappa scholastic honorary. After graduation, he continued at Purdue and earned a master's degree in industrial relations in 1975. In 1980, he graduated with a law degree from John Marshall Law School in Chicago. Burke pursued a successful career with Inland Steel Co. after law school, moving through 13 positions in an 18-year span. He was vice president when he departed to return to Purdue.

Beyond Purdue, Burke presently serves on the NCAA Leadership Council, which identifies important issues surrounding the future of the NCAA and reports to the Board of Directors. He previously was a member of several Big Ten boards (Executive, Program/Budget and Compliance committees) and NCAA working groups (Championships and Competitions and Postseason Football committees). In 2010, Burke was honored as the Football Bowl Subdivision Central Region Under Armour AD of the Year by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

Burke has the fifth-longest tenure among current athletics directors at FBS institutions. A highly respected professional of intercollegiate athletics, Morgan will lead the association as it continues to serve the Directors of Athletics in the 1A Association.

Executive Committee

Morgan Burke
Purdue University

1st Vice President
Jack Swarbrick
Notre Dame

ACC Representative
Dan Radakovich
Clemson University

AAC Representative
Mack Rhoades
University of Houston

Big Ten Representative
Jim Phillips
Northwestern University

Big Twelve Representative
Ian McCaw
Baylor University

Sun Belt Representative
John Hartwell
Troy University

Conference USA Representative
Chris Massaro
Middle Tennessee University

MAC Representative
Dave Heeke
Central Michigan

Mountain West Representative
Paul Krebs
University of New Mexico

PAC-12 Representative
Greg Byrne
University of Arizona

SEC Representative
Jeff Long
University of Arkansas

Ex Officio
Bob Vecchione

Ex Officio
Dutch Baughman
Executive Director

Immediate Past President
Jamie Pollard
Iowa State University


Division 1-A Conferences

New President and CEO

Tom McMillen was appointed CEO and president of the Division 1A Athletic Directors’ Association in September of 2015.

McMillen, a former University of Maryland and professional basketball standout, US Congressman, Rhodes Scholar, businessman, and founding member of the Knight Commission, brings to the 1A Association many years of experience dealing with the issues facing intercollegiate athletics.

McMillen had an illustrious high school basketball career and was featured on the cover of Sports Illustrated as the best high school player in America. While at the University of Maryland he was a three-time All-American, and when he graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry, he delivered the valedictorian address for his class. He still holds the all-time career scoring average for the Maryland basketball program and was the first University of Maryland student to be awarded a Rhodes scholarship, receiving a Bachelor and Master of Arts in politics, philosophy and economics from Oxford University. While studying at Oxford, McMillen played professional basketball for Virtus Sinudyne in Bologna, Italy.

In 1974, McMillen was drafted in the first round of the NBA Draft by the Buffalo Braves. He subsequently played for the New York Knicks, Atlanta Hawks, and Washington Bullets in a career that spanned 11 years, before he retired to pursue a career in politics.

Elected to the US House of Representatives for the 4th District in Maryland, McMillen served three terms and while in Congress sponsored a number of bills concerning college athletics, such as the Student Right-to-Know Act, which requires colleges and universities to disclose graduation rates for their student-athletes.

From 1991 to 2003, he was a member of the Knight Foundation’s Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics, investigating abuses within college sports. In 1993, he was named by President Bill Clinton as co-chair of the President’s Council on Fitness and Sports and Nutrition—a continuation of his involvement with the Council, which began in 1970 when he was in high school and appointed by President Richard Nixon.

From May 2011 through July 2013, McMillen served as the founding chairman of the National Foundation on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition, a congressionally authorized foundation (McMillen was the original architect of the enabling legislation). He currently is treasurer of the Foundation.

In May 1988, McMillen was inducted into the first GTE Academic All-American Hall of Fame as a charter member. In 2002, on the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), he was chosen as one of the ACC’s Top 50 players of all time. He was inducted into the University of Maryland Alumni Hall of Fame in 2010 and the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013.

McMillen was a member of the Board of Regents of the University of Maryland System and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Hellenic American University in Athens, Greece, and the Humane Society of the United States. He is a director of RCS Capital, a full-service investment fund and a director of Nexstar Broadcasting Group, a publicly traded owner of television stations across the US.

He is the co-author of Out of Bounds, a book examining sports and ethics in America. His op-eds and other articles have been published in the New York Times, the Atlantic Monthly, the Chronicle of Higher Education, USA Today, and the Baltimore Sun, among others.